About Us

The Bristol Water Department was purchased by the City of Bristol from a private corporation in the year 1913. It is operated by a Board of Water Commissioners consisting of five members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council for overlapping terms of three years. The Board collectively oversees the operation of the department which is managed by the Superintendent.

Current Water Commissioners are:

  • Elizabeth Phelan 
  • Jay Porrini
  • Ron Suarez 
  • Sean Dunn, Chairperson
  • Kathy Ferrier ,Secretary

Current Water Board Liason:

  • Mary Fortier,Council Liason

The public is invited to attend the departments Board of Water Commissioners meeting at 6:30 PM on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at the Water Treatment Plant, 1080 Terryville Avenue, Bristol, CT.

The Bristol Water Department receives no revenues from City property taxes, operating solely on funds generated from rates and service charges. In accordance with the provisions of the City Ordinances, these funds are administered through an enterprise account, separate from the City of Bristol's General Fund.