Show All Answers
The Bristol Town Clerk’s office issues certified copies of death certificates if the death occurred in Bristol or when the individual was a resident of Bristol at the time of the death. For additional information on how to obtain a copy of a death certificate, please access the Town Clerk at (860) 584-6200.
The Bristol Town Clerk’s office issues certified copies of marriage certificates if the marriage occurred in Bristol or when the bride and groom were residents of Bristol at the time of the marriage. For additional information on how to obtain a copy of a marriage certificate, please access the Town Clerk at (860) 584-6200.
The Bristol municipal conveyance tax is one half percent (0.005%). The residential conveyance tax rate for the State of Connecticut is three quarters percent (0.0075%). The fee to record most documents on the land records is $60 for the first page and $5 for each additional page or if it is a MERS document $159. Property transfers reportable to the State require a $2 surcharge. For additional land recording fees, please contact the Town Clerk’s office at (860) 584-6200 ext. 0.
There may be additional State of Connecticut business licensing and registration required for a new business. For information on state licensing and requirements contact Smart Start at (800) 392-2122 or by accessing the Connecticut Licensing Information Center.
The person signing the document must provide a minimum of two current forms of identification containing their signature, at least one of which contains their photograph, such as a driver’s license. Social security cards and birth certificates do not qualify as identification.
Please contact the Bristol Town Clerk’s at (860) 584-6200 ext. 0 if you have any questions.
If you are selling food or carrying goods or merchandise for sale in Bristol you must obtain a peddler’s license from the Police Department. Detailed information regarding the requirements, exemptions, and insurance requirements for a peddler’s license can be accessed on the Police Department's page.
State law does not allow the office to provide legal advice or to assist in preparing documents concerning real estate or land records.
You must file a foreclosure registration with the Town Clerk’s Office. The form and instructions can be accessed at the Town Clerk’s Office, 111 North Main Street. The fee to file the registration is $60 and payable by cash or check only.
Divorce decrees or court orders are available at the Court Clerk’s Office at the court where you were divorced. Please refer to the State of Connecticut Judicial website (link) on how and where to obtain a copy of your divorce decree or order.
You can apply for a passport through the U.S. Department of State or the Bristol Post Office. You may need a certified copy of your birth certificate to apply for the passport. For more information on the procedures and requirements for obtaining a passport access the U.S. Department of State website.